Driving Under a Suspended License (DUS) in Pennsylvania is a criminal offense. Any driver suspected of operating or attempting to operate a motor vehicle on any highway in Pennsylvania while their driving privileges have been suspended, revoked, canceled, or refused by the Department of Transportation could face serious consequences. A DUS charge can carry serious consequences, including fines and jail time. Penalties may also include points assessed against your driver’s license, which can lead to additional suspensions and fines. The driver could also face as many as 90 days in prison if convicted. Pennsylvania drivers need to understand that Driving Under a Suspended License may seem like a minor issue, but in actuality, it carries significant legal penalties and should be taken very seriously.
What are the Consequences if Convicted Under 75 Pa.C.S.A. §1543(a)?
If you’ve been charged and convicted under 75 Pa.C.S.A. §1543(a), it is important to understand the full implications of the offense and the steps needed to take charge of your case. Driving with a suspended, revoked, or canceled license is a serious offense in Pennsylvania. According to the Pennsylvania Motor Vehicle Code 1543(a), anyone caught driving with a suspended, revoked, or canceled license for the first time faces a mandatory fine and a one-year license suspension. If an individual commits this offense more than once, they will face increasingly harsher penalties. A sixth or subsequent offense can result in fines of $1000 with a minimum sentence of 30 days of jail time, and the sentence can be lengthened to six months in jail. Any offense between the first and sixth carries fines of up to $1,000 and up to six months in jail. It is important to note that even if you are unaware that your license has been suspended, revoked, or canceled due to unpaid tickets or other reasons, you can still be charged under this law. Ultimately, the fines and penalties associated with the charge will depend on other facts from the case and any previous charges and convictions.
When Experience Matters, Call Emkey Law Firm
If you’re facing criminal charges under 75 Pa.C.S.A. §1543(a), you need legal representation from an experienced attorney. Attorney Emkey recently represented a client who was charged with a 6th Driving Under Suspended License (DUS) (Non-DUI related) 75 Pa.C.S.A. §1543(a) charge. The client was facing a mandatory sentence of 30 days in jail and a 12-month license suspension. Attorney Emkey successfully argued the case and was able to have the DUS charges dropped, avoiding jail and further license suspension for his client. If you find yourself facing a citation for driving under a suspended license, you want the help of an experienced attorney like the team at Emkey Law Firm. Call (610) 200-6103 to schedule a consultation with Attorney Emkey to discuss the details of your case.